JAMES & WELLS **CHAMPIONS** OF INNOVATION.

Non-PCT countries list

Not all countries are signatories of the Patent Cooperation Treaty (PCT). If you are interested in filing a patent application in a non-PCT country, a separate application will need to be filed in each country of interest. Typically an application in a non-PCT country will need to be filed within 12 months of a corresponding New Zealand application.

A current list of non-PCT countries is provided below:

Non-PCT Countries			
Afghanistan	Ethiopia	Micronesia (Federated States)	Suriname
Andorra	Fiji	Myanmar	Taiwan
Argentina	Gulf Cooperation Council states (GCC)	Nauru	Tonga
Bahamas	Guyana	Nepal	Tuvalu
Bangladesh	Haiti	Pakistan	Uruguay
Bermuda	Hong Kong	Palau	Vanuatu
Bhutan	Kiribati	Paraguay	Vatican City (Holy See)
Bolivia	Lebanon	Solomon Islands	Venezuela
Burundi	Maldives	Somalia	Yemen
East Timor (Timor-Leste)	Marshall Islands	Somaliland	Zaire
Eritrea	Mauritius (joins from 15 March 2023)	South Sudan	

If you are interested in filing a patent application in any of these countries, please contact an attorney for specific advice.

Disclaimer

The above is provided for general information purposes only and does not take the place of specific legal advice. For more specific advice on all aspects of intellectual property law please contact us.





